Priyanka Chaturvedi

It's all about me!!My people, my favourite things, my raving and my ranting too!

My Latest Attempt..

leave a comment »

I remember I had mentioned I would write more frequently but that somehow doesn’t seem to be happening! Alas, though there is just so much I have to rave and rant about but can’t seem to assimilate all the thoughts running in the head into one rant post…If this post seems to be disjointed please understand so are the thoughts in my head!
So let me first begin with one more news that I have to share. Recently a political party had invited applications for people who wanted to become members in their Mumbai team and I ended up filling the form just to see how serious they were about their claims of just about any newbie being given a chance to enter the so called system. Filled. Done and forgotten. You can imagine my surprise when I got a call from them stating that I was now a member and the next best part was that I could now stand for a party position in the party. So I stood and I WON! Yes I did! Okay now for the reactions from sisters to brother to all well wishers – not too happy with the idea. Yes I agree with their viewpoint that politics in India would make anyone squirm…when you conjure up thoughts of all our netas it makes you uncomfortable and apprehensive. Well I will be honest and say I too am a bit undecided but I have given it a shot and want to attempt to do full justice to it.
I know I sound crazy but somehow I believe that if we don’t come forward to change the political dynamics of this country why the hell should we expect anyone better to rule us? It is very easy to sit at home and denounce the state of affairs of the country it is altogether a different ball game when you try to step into the muck and attempt to bring about changes in the system. I absolutely have not entered with stars in my eyes that this position will help me change the country…but I believe it definitely is a small step in trying to be the change I want to see in this country. Who will come forward if not us?
The second thing I have noticed is that not many women come forward to try and enter politics. When I attended their first convention I noticed that there was only one woman candidate who attempted to stand for the Mumbai Presidential election amongst 21 males in the fray. Skewed numbers totally hence I absolutely appreciate the 33% reservation for women in the parliament and all elections big or small. The reservation if acted upon seriously could change the dynamics of the future of the Indian women in the country. Very honestly the women are usually not looked upon seriously in this area. I feel that this mindset would change too if more women enter politics.
So that is how things stand. I have chosen this and I will try to do full justice to it…I may drop out if I feel I cannot manage but will not give up without trying my best. Maybe, just maybe, I will be able to bring about a slight difference in the scheme of things to come.
You say I am immensely positive…I say yes I am! I have always looked at the glass as half full rather than half empty…yet again maybe proved wrong but at least I attempted, I went beyond speaking about the changes I wanted to see in the system.
As long as the heart is in the right place for the right reasons I am sure it would be an enjoyable time! If nothing else will get a chance to learn the intricacies of what makes the world’s largest democracy India tick.
Written by Priyanka Chaturvedi

August 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Posted in Personal, Politics

Leave a Reply

