Priyanka Chaturvedi

It's all about me!!My people, my favourite things, my raving and my ranting too!

Homework Blues!

with 5 comments

While I write this my son is howling and crying about not doing his homework.Week after week it is a struggle to get him to sit down and do his homework.

My son goes to a school where each class has only 28 kids with 2/3 teachers.Pretty good child teacher ratio where every child is personally observed by the teacher.Everything that they are taught in school is absolutely hands on and no learning by rote is involved.So why is it that getting him to do his homework is such a difficult task?Considering that he goes to a school which does not give tons of homework for the child to do everyday and the homework is all of 3/4 pages to do over the weekend seems to be a big chore for my son..

If this is what it is now at pre-school level I dread to think what lies ahead.
Whenever I see this behavior I rewind back to my school days carrying a heavy school bag on my back and almost everyday getting homework for every subject.I used to diligently sit down in the evening and ensure my homework was complete to avoid getting teachers remark in my school diary.And having a class crammed with sixty kids the only way we could get attention from the teacher was when we did our homework well/wrote neatly.The compliment from the teacher in front of the class was well worth the effort put in to do the homework!

So what is it that makes this gen tick………..am still looking for an answer!If anyone knows pliss do helllllllp am at my wit’s end!

Written by Priyanka Chaturvedi

February 10, 2009 at 9:36 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The trick, Priyanka, I’ve found is to keep a fixed time every night as homework time. Create your own homework and make it compulsory that he has to do it. Enlist Pappa’s support in the matter. Once it becomes a habit, its easier. Now the brat actually goes and pulls out his homework bag after dinner.

    Kiran Manral

    February 11, 2009 at 11:31 am

  2. hi Priyanka, I am surprised that preschoolers are getting homework. My kindgartner son and 2 preschooler daughters do not get any homework. Infact they say a child is unfit to focus more than 3 house this young and let kids come to school fulltime only after they turn 5, and this is one of the best academic schools out here. Those 3 hours , they do a lot of hands on work and get the best studying experience there is. My 5 year old son has had no homework so far, but can write beautiful running cursive, is learning multiplication and division in school. He has been going fulltime since he turned 5. So i am surprised you are getting homework for a preschooler. So please do not fret, he is getting more work than he should be doing !!

    The TAA Mommy

    February 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

  3. @Kiran Thank you Kiran even I felt that I need to instill the concept of homework everyday rather than a weekend affair once it becomes a habit it becomes much easier to handle the situation!@The TAA Mummy:Thanks for writing in!that relieves my stress levels considerably!I absolutely agree about the concept of no homework till the kids are not 6!But the homework he gets is minimal (as per Indian standards).My son is 6 will be going to 1st grade from the new academic session and he hates to write!!

    Priyanka

    February 12, 2009 at 10:38 am

  4. Cantaloupe gets no homework from school … yet … but I try to get her to sit down and write for atleast 15 minutes … its a test of my patience … but atleast she is getting used to a routine. Interesting workbooks with pictures and stickers may be a good start to get them to sit down.

    Cantaloupes.Amma (CA)

    February 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm

  5. Maybe you can incentivise it, like some favourite show after he does the homework, or candy. ?

    The TAA Mommy

    February 14, 2009 at 4:05 am


Leave a Reply

