Priyanka Chaturvedi

It's all about me!!My people, my favourite things, my raving and my ranting too!

..And let it be known that I was there!!

with one comment

Yes I finally managed to go for the marathon!! But as I said I was unable to run as I hadn’t registered.Though I didn’t run the experience was exhilarating!I shall tell all right from the start…
I woke up at 6.30 and was feeling really bad for my little baby who would be dragged to my sister’s place early morning but at the same very excited about the marathon.Poor hubby was dragged along as well with me but I must say he was quite a sport throughout.So the two of us headed for the train station (did not take the car as were not too sure about the parking etc)and were quiet surprised to see just so many more people heading for the marathon all wearing t-shirts of the cause they were supporting.We managed to get into a slow train and you could almost feel the fervor. As soon as we reached Churchgate we met up with the rest of the India Helps team and together with them we went on our mission which was to try and create awareness about our cause and probably get more volunteers.While walking from the station to Azad Maidan we could see lots of colours,kids in various costumes and loads of excitement.So we went and stationed ourselves where the registrations were happening and realised that most of the registration process was completed and not many were left with whom we could talk about our cause.So off we went towards the media stand and saw the Corporate Challenge flagged off but had to move from there as it was way too crowded.We had still not found the perfect place to distribute leaflets and put up our banner!So we walked towards Marine Lines and reached where the race ended.That is where we parked ourselves.It was great to see lots of govt. owned companies participating with a huge contingent like the WR,MCGM,BMC,ONGC etc then there were also the celebrities running for their cause I saw Anil Kumble,Soha Ali Khan,Harsha Bhogle…what was great to see was the camaraderie -everyone running as an equal whether you a celebrity or a commoner and all running for the city of Mumbai!The mood was very festive,there was lots of music, you could see lezhim dancers,singers who were pepping up the mood of the runners at the fag end!Everyone ending the race with a huge smile and what was more heartening was the response to our leaflets some stopped by to understand what India Helps was all about and what our plans were.What was equally heartening to see was the number of senior citizens participating (It was for Harmony).Lots of kids on strollers were part of the huge dream run turn out.It was one big carnival out there!
So after the leaflets were handed out we decided to call it a day and head back home.Both husband and I were very happy about being a part of the marathon.We have decided to register ourselves and take our kids as well because I am sure they’d enjoy the experience as well.
Kids or no kids I am surely gonna be there!!

Written by Priyanka Chaturvedi

January 19, 2009 at 12:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just reading about it is so exhilarating! Next year I wanna be there!

    Ratna

    January 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm


Leave a Reply

