Priyanka Chaturvedi

It's all about me!!My people, my favourite things, my raving and my ranting too!

Marathon and me!

with 2 comments

This year I plan to go for the Mumbai Marathon!!!If I was asked to attend this annual mega event two months back I would have laughed it off considering I could not have imagined running/walking or whatever they do out there!!I am too lazy a person to go down for a stroll in my building forget running,sweating,handling the heat,braving the crowds it’s just not me.Give me a good book and I can just plonk myself on the bed and read for hours on end……But here I am absolutely super excited and looking forward to attending this event.I may not get a chance to run (thank god for that!!My fitness levels are nothing to write home about..) considering that the registrations closed for the event way back in August 2008.
What made me change my mind?Why am I even attempting to be there considering I stay a good 20+ kms away from where the Marathon happens every year and leaving two small kids at home?I do this because this year I am participating for a cause that I feel strongly about.
In my earlier posts I had mentioned that I was absolutely shaken after the 26/11 episode so I finally chose to do something about it.I have chosen not to sit back and forget what happened that day.
Post 26/11 the intent was there but I did not know how to go about it but thanks to Kiran who started a blog I realised that a group of concerned citizens could actually make a big difference in bettering the lives of families of the victims.The team is still taking baby steps considering that some of us are relatively new to this but the support from like minded people has been tremendous..So that is where the marathon comes in.We are trying to get more people to involve themselves in this cause.
Going to be there with lots of hopes and absolute confidence that the people of Mumbai will not let me down!And will support us whole heartedly…

Written by Priyanka Chaturvedi

January 13, 2009 at 10:26 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey..i feel as if u just wrote my thoughts! even i cant get my lazy ass to complete a marathon…but the 26/11 cause makes all the difference…if u can get me in please let me know. My family and i were late to register this year.And any help for INDIA HELPS lemme know…

    Ratna

    January 13, 2009 at 11:35 am

  2. nice blog

    snake

    January 13, 2009 at 7:07 pm


Leave a Reply

