Priyanka Chaturvedi

It's all about me!!My people, my favourite things, my raving and my ranting too!

Dance like no one is watching!

with 4 comments

Ever since I remember I have been a very reluctant dancer and you can easily say I have two left feet.In my family all are fabulous dancers..my sisters have won many prizes for their dancing and so has my brother.I was always happy watching them from the sidelines but if I was pushed to dance I used to throw a major tantrum!!I really find it very difficult to co-ordinate my hand and leg movement simultaneously.I would say my various attempts at dancing have been really hilarious.
I remember around 2 years back I finally decided I wanted to learn how to dance so I hired a tutor who could teach me how to dance. I must admit, all her attempts to teach me how to dance flopped miserably and she politely backed out of this mission impossible!!Really I don’t blame her!
The bollywood actor and actresses really amaze me with their jhatkas and their gravity defying dance moves..so do today’s kids- you must watch them dance!!Most of them are absolutely successful in copying the heroine/hero of the song even the expressions are absolutely the same.Watch any dance show on TV and you have these miniature Shahrukhs and Kareenas dancing away to glory for the much coveted prize money.The kids are made to dance,sing,and act like stand up comedians in these kid based shows..really makes me wonder where has all the innocence gone??
Anyway back to my dancing prowess or rather the lack of it,today I see even my son inherits this quality from me.I have tried sending him for a dance class once but he would absolutely refuse to listen to his dance sir.So I gave up when he refused to step into the dance class.I would be very honest here and say that he does dance when he chooses to.And he can dance very well (that is where the two of us are different!) but he has chosen the same path as me of not dancing in front of people and when they are watching..
So what do I do to change this?Many a times the child watches the parent for cues..so I have chosen to dance- I don’t care if my moves are not in sync with the music really how does it matter?I have chosen to dance on any music that is foot tapping it could even be the birdy dance..I have chosen to dance like no one is watching.All this in the hope that my son also doesn’t turn out to be a reluctant dancer like me.
I can definitely see the change, though very little, but it is there.He dances when he sees his mother dance..he also laughs on watching his mother dance!!So he now knows it’s ok to dance funny or continue dancing even when people find your moves hilarious…but atleast he enjoys the effort and so do I.have started enjoying dancing!
So here’s to many more dance sessions with my son!Oh by the way did I mention that my daughter at 16 months is a fabulous dancer?!Play any bollywood song and she dances like one bollywood diva…
The travails of a mother!

Written by Priyanka Chaturvedi

January 6, 2009 at 5:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey, how come hubby’s dancing ( or lack of it ) gets no mention in this

    Vickram

    January 6, 2009 at 11:17 am

  2. Well i too had heard about your lack of enthusiasm to dance..however i have seen you twice in a social gathering where there was an opportunity to dance (firangi paani with pranav vicky u and self and madhavi didiz maata ki chowki)..both occasions u took a little time to start dancing..but i want to tell u this…when u did..you were more gorgeous than most people on the dance floor..your height, good looks and elegance always makes u look stunning in whatever you do..be it dancing or something else! Hell! you make babysitting look glamorous! So i don’t believe aarnav was laughing seeing you dance cause you looked ‘funny’..rather he was having a ‘blast’ with his mum..a thing he hasn’t experienced with his mum together before in his life..and it definitely is ‘thrilling’

    Ratna

    January 7, 2009 at 6:29 am

  3. v u sure will get a mention…Victorinox episode is what I had in mind..Ratna thanks but I do maintain I dance funny lol

    Priyanka

    January 7, 2009 at 11:32 am

  4. rightly said ..enjoy the music and make them move your feet rather than actually dance 🙂

    ani_aset

    October 29, 2010 at 7:22 am


Leave a Reply

